
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS / GENERAL INFORMATION  
 

If you live and work in Mississippi you are required to earn your Continuing Education hours in 
Mississippi from programs approved by the MS Board or NAB (NCERS). Any program not 
approved by either the MS Board or NAB will not be accepted as valid CEUs unless an Individual 
Request was submitted and approved by the Board prior to the date the program was held. An 
Individual C.E. Request costs $75.00. You can look up NAB approved programs on their website 
www.nabweb.org.  
 
 

Mississippi State Board of Nursing Home Administrators  
Excerpt from Rules and Regulations (date last revised - 12/01/23) 

 

Part 2703 Chapter 2: Regulations 
 

Rule 2.2 Continuing Education: Programs and Requirements 
A. Pursuant to Section 73-17-9 (g) of the Act, it shall be the function and duty of 

the Board to devise and implement an educational program designed to 
increase the proficiency of nursing home administrators and to assist 
otherwise qualified individuals to prepare for careers in nursing home 
administration. The purpose of continuing education review is to provide a 
standard and uniform method of evaluating the continuing education 
activities required for maintenance of licensure of nursing home 
administrators. 

 
(1) the program must be registered with the Board on forms provided 

by the Board; 
 

(2) the programs must include areas of study selected from the subjects 
listed in Part 2703, Chapter 1, Rule 1.6 of these Rules and Regulations 
related to long-term or health care administrators; 

 
(3) the program must be open to all licensed administrators wishing to 

register and attend; 
 

(4) approved sponsors are required to submit to the Board an 
alphabetical listing of all licensed nursing home administrators in 
attendance. A photocopy of all sign-in pages must accompany the 
typed listing; 

 
(5) a. the program must be submitted to the Board for approval at 

http://www.nabweb.org/


least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the anticipated 
registration of licensees in the course of study. 

 
b. Individual requests will be reviewed when submitted at least 

thirty (30) calendar days prior to the program being held. A 
maximum of ten (10) hours will be accepted from individually 
approved programs per 2-year licensure period. 

 
c. An administrator who holds a nursing home administrator 

license in Mississippi and one or more additional states 
simultaneously, and is working in another state, may renew 
his/her MS license by receiving credit for continuing 
education hours earned from programs that have been 
approved by the state board in which he/she is working. 

 
(6) A three-hour semester course in an approved institution of higher 

learning within the guidelines for areas of study may be accepted as 
meeting twenty (20) clock hours of continuing education. A limitation 
of one three- 
hour semester course per licensure period will apply, that is approved 
prior to or during the course of study. 

 
(7) Programs which have received approval by NCERS (the National 

Board's Review Service for Continuing Education) will be acceptable 
for licensure renewal requirements for nursing home administrators 
licensed in MS, including self-study courses and distance learning 
courses. A maximum of twenty (20) hours will be accepted for each 
individual program or course approved by NCERS. No administrator 
will receive credit for more than twenty (20) hours earned from self- 
study and distance learning courses per 2- year licensure period 
approved by NCERS. 

 
Any sponsor or sponsors found certifying to an untruth will no 
longer be considered as providing acceptable programs of study. 

 
B. Each nursing home administrator shall complete at least forty (40) 

classroom or clock hours of continuing education or its equivalent under an 
approved Continuing Education program each 2-year period.  A minimum 
of twenty (20) hours shall be earned from Board approved courses. 

 
C. For new administrators licensed within a biennial period, this requirement 

shall be prorated at 1.5 hours per month. 
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