1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216

(601) 362-6914

www.msnha.ms.gov

Universal Recognition of an Occupational License (UROLA) Application Information Sheet

Applicants for licensure licensed in another state have two options of applying for a license in Mississippi. The first option is coming through Endorsement and/or obtaining a Temporary Permit which you can find that Endorsement and Temporary Permit Application on our website. The second option, which is this Application, is coming through the Universal Recognition of an Occupational License Act (UROLA).

Coming through UROLA, you must complete an application, submit proof of residency, submit the attached Affidavit, have an Endorsement Questionnaire sent from each state you have been licensed from, have a criminal background check completed as stipulated in the Board's Rules and Regulations, and pay the Application fee.

The Board meets on a quarterly basis and will review your application. If approved, you must sit and pass the State Exam to obtain a permanent license.

If this process takes longer than fourteen (14) days, you may obtain a Temporary Practice Permit by filling out the Application, submit proof of residency, submit the attached Affidavit, and pay the Application fee.

Eligibility:

- Applicants must be at least 18 years of age
- Applicants must pass a state and federal fingerprint-based background check
- Applicants must provide proof of residency in the state of Mississippi
- Applicants must have held a license in another state for at least one (1) year or have worked as a nursing home administrator in another state for a period of three (3) years or more and provide proof as stipulated in the attached Affidavit
- Applicants must complete all qualifications listed on the attached Affidavit

Disqualifications:

- Applicants must have not committed any act in the other state that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice nursing home administration
- Applicants must not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the Board under Mississippi law
- Applicant must not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before any licensing Board in Mississippi or any other state that relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime

Steps to Licensure:

1) **Submit application and fee**. A complete application packet is available at – www.msnha.ms.gov. The application can be submitted electronically or by mail. The accompanying documents requiring original signatures must be submitted by mail. Please make copies of all documents before mailing

1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216

(601) 362-6914

www.msnha.ms.gov

and use a tracking method for mailing. The application fee is \$325.00 payable to MS State Board of Nursing Home Administrators.

- Mail Endorsement/Reciprocity Questionnaire to each state in which you applied for a NHA license and each state in which you were granted a NHA license.
- 3) **State and Federal fingerprint-based background check.** Have the Mississippi State Board of Health / Licensure and Certification obtain a fingerprint-based background check on you. This should be done through a Mississippi facility. This should be in letter format from the facility, on facility letterhead, signed and notarized and sent directly to the Board's administrative office. If you are unable to obtain this fingerprint-based background check from a Mississippi facility you must obtain it from the appropriate governmental agency. This fingerprint-based background check should be sent directly to the Board's administrative office.
- 4) **Submit attached Affidavit.** This Affidavit must be signed and notarized and the Board must have the original with original signatures.
- 5) **Submit proof of residency.** Submit proof of residency as stipulated in the Affidavit.
- 6) Submit UROLA Application Fee (\$325.00), Temporary Practice Application Fee (\$300.00), and Temporary Practice Permit Fee (\$100.00).

1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216

(601) 362-6914

www.msnha.ms.gov

Application Checklist UROLA

In compliance with Miss. Code. Ann. § 73-50-2, as amended 2021, <u>you must submit the following documents along with your Application for License</u>. These documents must be the <u>originals</u> with the original signatures.

(www.msnha.ms.gov) or by paper but if completed by paper it must be the original and sent to the Board's administrative office. This application must be completed entirely and correctly.
Completed UROLA Affidavit. This must be signed and notarized and the original must be sent to the Board's administrative office.
Proof of residency as stipulated in the UROLA Affidavit must be sent to the Board's administrative office.
Proof that a state and federal criminal record check was performed and it must be sent directly to the Board's administrative office from a) the employing institution,or b) the Mississippi Criminal Information Center. (This document must be notarized.)
Proof of any other occupation or license in any state sent directly to the Board's administrative office. This must include issue date, expiration date, and any disciplinary action.
Endorsement Questionnaire(s) sent from each state that you have been licensed in or have applied for licensure. This must be sent directly from the licensing state to the Board's administrative office.
Proof of 18 years of age. This must be obtained through a copy of a state issued driver's license, a passport, or military I.D.
UROLA Application Fee of \$325.00.
UROLA Temporary Practice Permit Application Fee of \$300.00.
UROLA Temporary Practice Permit Fee of \$100.00.

1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216 (601) 362-6914

www.msnha.ms.gov

12. Business Email:_____

Date Submitted:				
APPLICATION FEE = \$325.00				
APPLIC NURSING I hereby make application for pursuant to the Laws of the	Attach a recent photograph with your name and date provided on the back			
Mississippi State Board of Nu	ırsing Home Administrator.			
GENERAL INFORMATION				
GENERAL INI ORPATION				
1. Name:LAST	FIRST	MIDDLE	MAID	EN
Do you have a name or nick	name you prefer to be called	? If so, please provid	e:	
2. Home Mailing Address: _	, ,		STATE	
3. Home Phone:		4. Cell Phone:		
5. Personal Email:		6. Date of Birth:		<u></u>
7. Social Security Number:		8. Driver's License	Number:	State
MS NURSING HOME FACI	LITY INFORMATION			
9. Facility Name:				
10. Facility Mailing Address:	CTREET OR C. DOV	CITY (CTATE	710.000
	STREET OR P. O. BOX	CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE

11. Facility Phone:_____

EDUCATION

13. Please list your education history beginning with High School diploma. List <u>every</u> institution that you attended and received college credit. **Have all of your official college credit transcripts sent directly to MSBNHA**.

Institution Name	Location	Dates Attended From:	Dates Attended To:	Major	Degree Earned

EMPLOYMENT HISTORY

14. List your employment history beginning with your current place of employment.

From Mo/Yr	Employer	Type of
		Business
To Mo/Yr	City/State	Job Title
Job		
Description		
From Mo/Yr	Employer	Type of
110111110/11	2р.оус.	Business
To Mo/Yr	City/State	Job Title
10 110/11	City/State	Job Title
Job		
Description		
From Mo/Yr	Employer	Type of
	p.s/s.	Business
To Mo/Yr	City/State	Job Title
	City/State	300 Tide
Job		
Description		
From Mo/Yr	Employer	Type of
,	,	Business
To Mo/Yr	City/State	Job Title
	Sity State	505 Title
Job		
Description		
From Mo/Yr	Employer	Type of
		Business
To Mo/Yr	City/State	Job Title
Job		
Description		
Description		

Membership in Pro	fessional Societies and	d Associations	3		
15. Please list any ac	tive memberships and as	ssociations:			
Name of Organization	7	De	ate of Membership		
				-	
				_	
				-	
Licenses and Profe	ssional Certifications				
			rsing Home Administrators li of of license/certification		
Type of License	Licensure State	License Number	Date Licensed From:	Date Licensed To:	
Background and Ch	naracter				
17. Have you ever be misdemeanor?	een arrested, convicted, o	·	ending, for committing a cri	·	
18. Are you in good health and physically able to perform the duties of a nursing home administrator? □ Yes □ No, explain:					
□ No			cohol, drugs or narcotics?		

20. Ha		applied for a Nursing Home Administration No Yes, list states:		
21. Ha		ever failed examination or been refu No Yes, list states:		·
	umbere	ever had a Certificate or Professiona d in any way (including discipline act No Yes, explain:	ion)?	d, revoked, suspended, voluntarily surrendered,
23. Do		ave any pending disciplinary action of No No Yes, explain:	· 	
Refere				
24. Ple	ease pro	ovide three (3) references, not relate ompetence.		narriage, who can testify to your character and
Name	2		Address	
Title			City/State	
Busin	ess		ZIP	
Name			Address	
Title			City/State	
Busin	ess		ZIP	
Name			Address	
Title			City/State	
Busin	ess		ZIP	

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

I hereby certify that all information contained herein is complete and correct, that I am familiar with the Mississippi Statute pertaining to nursing homes and/or health care facilities and their administration.

If granted a license to practice as a Nursing Home Administrator in the State of Mississippi, I will obey the laws of the State, the Rules and Regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Nursing Home Administrators, and maintain the honor and dignity of the profession.

It is understood and agreed that if I should fail to keep the above agreement, or if I have made any false statements in the Application that my Application may be rejected or my license may be revoked by the Board.

	(Signature of Applicant)	
Date		
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	Day of	, 20
Notary Public	My commission expires	

NOTARY SEAL

Mississippi State Board of Nursing Home Administrators Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216 (601) 362-6914 www.msnha.m

1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 305, Jackson, MS 39216

www.msnha.ms.gov

ENDORSEMENT/RECIPROCITY QUESTIONNAIRE

Applicant: Complete this section and provide a copy of this form to each state board that has issued you a license or to any state board to which you have applied for licensure. Send to ALL states since original licensure.

NAME:	HOME ADDRESS:		
BUSINESS ADDRESS:			
SOCIAL SECURITY #:		DATE OF BIRTH	:
	ırsing Home Administrator in		your state, has made application for omplete the following form and return t
1) Is the above information the	same as your records?	Yes N	0
LICENSE NUMBER:	DATE ISSUE	ED:	DATE EXPIRES:
STATUS OF LICENSE:	Active Ina	active Expired	
2) Did your state issue original I	icense? Yes No	If No , indicate state	e of original license
3) If original license was issued	by your state, what was the	type of exam?	NAB PES Other
Raw Score	Scale Score		Date of Exam
4) If original license was issued No Yes		·	completed?
5) Has the applicant ever been of		No Yes	If Yes , please explain:
6) According to your records, is	the applicant in good standir	ng with your Board at t	his time? Yes No
If No , please explain			
7) Does the applicant currently I	nave an investigation or a dis	sciplinary action pendin	g? No Yes
8) According to your records, he Administrator?		his applicant been emparsMonths	oloyed in your state as a Nursing Home
Printed name of individual completing	g this form	Signature	
Official Title		Date	STATE SEAL
Mailing Address		Phone Number	State of:
City, State, Zip Code		Email Address	

UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION OF AN OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE AFFIDAVIT

STAT	E OF	
COUN	NTY OF	-
	I, the undersigned,	being duly sworn,
hereby	deposes and say:	
	1. I am over the age of 18 and am a r	resident of the State of I
have p	ersonal knowledge of the facts herein,	and if called as a witness, could testify completely
thereto).	
2. I su	-	sonal knowledge of the facts set forth below.
a.	C	
	*	f practice and have held this license from the
	Occupational Licensing Board in that	` ' -
b.	-	m educational requirements, work experience,
	1	al supervision requirements in effect; or have been
	awarded a military occupational spec	ialty in this profession;
c.	I am a resident of Mississippi.	
OR		
d	I have worked in the State of	, for a period of
u.		does not use a license to regulate a lawful
	` / •	eax return for the prior three (3) years in verification
	of three (3) year's work experience in	
AND		
e.	I have not committed any act in the o	ther state that would have constituted grounds for
	•	- 1: t ti ti ti ti ti ti - Minimize

- e. I have not committed any act in the other state that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice that occupation in Mississippi at the time the act was committed and I do not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by this Board under Mississippi law; and
- f. I have not surrendered a license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to my work in this, or any other, occupation in another state; and
- g. I do not have a complaint, allegation or investigation pending before any licensing Board in Mississippi or any other state that relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime; and
- h. I have paid the required fee and have cleared the state and federal fingerprint-based background check; and
 - i. I have submitted a completed MSBNHA Application for Professional Licensure; and
 - j. I have paid all applicable fees in Mississippi.

I further understand that prior to the issuance of a Temporary Practice Permit I must produce proof of a Mississippi state-issued identification card; or

- 1. current Mississippi residential utility bill with the applicant's name and address; or
- 2. documentation of current ownership, or current lease of a residence in Mississippi; or
- 3. documentation of current in-state employment or notarized letter of promise of employment; or
- 4. any verifiable documentation demonstrating your Mississippi residence as approved by this Board.

I understand that I may practice under a Temporary Practice Permit until a license is granted, or until a notice to deny the license is issued, in accordance with Rues adopted by the Mississippi State Board of Nursing Home Administrators; and, the Temporary Practice Permit will expire in 365 days after its issuance.

Signed by the applic	eant,		
This the	day of	, 20	·
	NOTARY A	CKNOWLEDGMENT	
STATE OF			
COUNTY OF		<u> </u>	
		Notary Public	
SEAL		My Commission Expires	